Equality Task Force

Task Force on Equality

In 2020, Principal Chief Chuck Hoskin Jr. and Deputy Chief Bryan Warner signed an Executive Order on Equality to prohibit discrimination and ensure all Cherokee Nation citizens, including those who face historic and contemporary marginalization and discrimination, are considered equal under tribal law. The Cherokee Nation has more than 15,000 Cherokee citizens of Freedmen descent.

The executive order was expanded to create a Task Force to examine participation rates of Cherokee citizens of Freedmen descent in Cherokee Nation programs, identify gaps and suggest strategies to address any deficiencies.

The report was finalized and released June 19, 2024.