Smith, Shambaugh secure Tribal Council seats in runoff elections


TAHLEQUAH, Okla. — More than 1,400 Cherokee Nation citizens cast ballots Saturday in the District 5 and District 9 Tribal Council run-off elections.

Unofficial voting results from the Cherokee Nation Election Commission show E.O. Smith garnered 347 votes to Uriah Grass’ 317 votes in the District 5 race.

Mike Shambaugh won the District 9 Tribal Council seat, receiving 421 votes to Clifton Hughes’ 345 votes.

Smith and Shambaugh will be sworn into office with the June Tribal Council election winners Joe Byrd, Victoria Vazquez, Frankie Hargis, Janees Taylor, Harley Buzzard, Mike Dobbins and Mary Baker Shaw at 10:30 a.m., Monday, Aug. 14, during an inauguration ceremony at Sequoyah High school’s gym in Tahlequah.

The Cherokee Nation Election Commission is expected to certify the unofficial results Monday. Candidates have until Wednesday, July 26 to request a recount. The election appeal deadline is Friday, July 28.

Cherokee Nation News Release

For Media Inquiries:
Julie Hubbard 918-207-3896 

For General Information:


© Cherokee Nation - All Rights Reserved