The Cherokee Nation Marshal Service is a certified law enforcement agency with jurisdiction throughout the Cherokee Nation.  The Marshal Service is cross-deputized with 50 municipal, county, state, and federal agencies. With more than 32 Deputy Marshals, the agency offers an array of special teams focusing on prevention and justice in matters concerning criminal activities.

The Marshal Service provides an array of special emphasis units including:

  • D.A.R.E.
  • Dive Team
  • Marshal Swift Water Rescue
  • Domestic Violence Presentations
  • Methamphetamine Presentations
  • Narcotics Unit
  • Gang Awareness
  • Vehicle Accident Investigation
  • Special Operations Team


All Cherokee Nation Marshals are required to receive training at the Federal Training Center.  The Artesia Training Division is responsible for designing, developing, coordinating, and administering advanced and specialized training programs for the United States Border Patrol, Bureau of Indian Affairs, Transportation Security Administration, and other partnering organizations.  Basic and advanced training programs are conducted for the Department of Interior's Bureau of Indian Affairs under the auspices of the Indian Police Academy.

Sex Offender Registry

Pursuant the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006 and the 2008 Cherokee Nation Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act, any convicted sex offender who lives, works, or attends school within the Cherokee Nation reservation must register as a Sex Offender with Cherokee Nation, in addition to any other state, territory, or tribal registration.

Search for offenders in your local area using Offender Watch. This tool allows searching and setting up notifications.