Nine Tribal Council members take oath of office


(L to R) Jack Baker, Janees Taylor, Chuck Hoskin Jr., Harley Buzzard, Curtis Snell, David Thornton, Don Garvin, Joe Byrd.

TAHLEQUAH, Okla. — Nine Cherokee Nation Tribal Council members have four years of key policy decision-making ahead, as they were officially sworn in to office Wednesday during an inauguration ceremony at Sequoyah Schools’ The Place Where They Play.

The Cherokee Nation Tribal Council consists of a 17-member body approving laws vital to the tribe’s success and future. Nine of those seats were up for election June 22, with seven incumbents returning.

“We have made great strides as a nation in the past few years, and I believe with the passion and dedication of this council we will see that progress continue,” said Speaker of the Council Tina Glory-Jordan.

The only newcomer to the board is Janees Taylor, of Pryor, who will serve District 15. Harley Buzzard, of Delaware County, was elected to District 10 and had previously served on the Tribal Council from 2007-11.

“Serving the Cherokee people is the highest honor. I’m grateful to voters for giving me the opportunity to continue the progress we have made,” said District 9 Tribal Councilor Curtis Snell, of Rose. “I believe this new body will continue to make decisions that benefit the Cherokee Nation as a whole, and that are in the best interest of our people.”

The elected officials sworn into office for a four-year term include the following: District 2 – Joe Byrd; District 4 – Don Garvin; District 5 – David Thornton; District 7 – Frankie Hargis; District 9 – Curtis Snell; District 10 – Harley Buzzard;  District 11 – Chuck Hoskin, Jr.; District 15 – Janees Taylor; At-Large – Jack Baker

To contact your Tribal Council representative, call 918-207-3900.

Cherokee Nation News Release
Julie Hubbard - 918-207-3896 

© Cherokee Nation - All Rights Reserved