Deadline to request Tribal Council election absentee ballot is Friday


TAHLEQUAH, Okla. — The deadline for absentee ballot requests to be received by the Cherokee Nation Election Commission is Friday, May 10 by 5 p.m. Voters may locate their districts and download an absentee ballot request form from the Election Commission Webpage.

Absentee ballots for the June 22 Tribal Council elections will be mailed shortly thereafter.
Voters can request an absentee ballot in the following ways:

Fill out a request form between 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Cherokee Nation Election Commission office, 22116 S. Bald Hill Road, Tahlequah,OK 74464
Mail the form to the Cherokee Nation Election Commission, P.O. Box 1188, Tahlequah, OK 74465-1188
Fax the form to the election commission by Friday to 918-458-6101.
The election commission will mail absentee ballots to voters on May 27-28 and forms should be returned to the Cherokee Nation Election Commission at their physical address or by mail, by June 22.

The Cherokee Nation moved from five Tribal Council voting districts to 15 districts starting with the June 22 election.

The Tribal Council districts up for election and list of candidates are as follows:

District 2:  Joe Byrd (I) and Tamsye Dreadfulwater.
District 4: Don Garvin (I), Mike Dobbins, and Justin Carlton
District 5:  David W. Thornton Sr. (I), Dink Scott and Sherri L. Doolin
District 7:  Frankie Hargis (I) and Joe Adair
District 9:  Curtis Snell (I) and Lonus Mitchell
District 10:  Harley Buzzard and Nettie Detherage
District 11:  Chuck Hoskin Jr. is unopposed.
District 15:  Meredith Frailey (I), Marilyn Cooper and Janees Taylor
At-Large: Jack Baker (I), Robin Mayes, Ken Luttrell, Carole Richmond, Curtis West and Curtis Bruehl
For more information, contact the Cherokee Nation Election Commission at 918-458-5899 or 1-800-353-2895 or


Cherokee Nation News Release
Julie Hubbard - 918-207-3896
© Cherokee Nation - All Rights Reserved